About Me

Hello and welcome to my eportfolio! My name is Hailey Harris and I am just starting the fourth year of my elementary education degree at the University of Regina. Alongside my degree, I am working towards a certificate in inclusive education. 

I was born and raised in a small town of about 500 people between Saskatoon and the Battlefords. I am the oldest of three girls and have a 13-year-old Shih Tzu, who has the attitude of an old man. My parents have always supported any idea and passion my sisters and I have.

Background: Bridge with graffiti over a river. Five people stand in the foreground. Left to right: Woman in knee-length white dress, Man in blue dress shift, girl in sapphire grad dress, girl in white dress with red flowers. Lastly, girl in a black knee-length dress.
My family at my middle sister’s grad.

From a young age, I have been involved with sports, whether it was in my community or at school. From age four until 18, hockey was the main sport I played. Hockey provided me opportunities to expand my social live outside my small town. I met many people from different walks of life and created some amazing relationships. Hockey has provided many lessons in teamwork, which has become very useful in my education journey. Throughout my time in primary school, I played soccer, volleyball, track and field, and softball. These sports all created a sense of community within our school and majorly contributed to why I decided to become a teacher.

Young girl sitting on ice in a rink. She wears a black helmet with the name 'Hailey' on it. She also wears a pink Oilers jersey, pink and white pants, hockey skates and gloves.
Me at age 5, taking a break from skating.

I have always had a passion for travelling, and as I have gotten older, it’s grown immensely. This passion started when I was younger and we went on family trips. I was privileged enough to go to places such as Disneyland, Disneyworld, Hawaii, and many places around Canada.

Background: Coastline of Newfoundland. Foreground: Girl stands on a boat taking photos of the coast.
Our first day in Newfoundland, on a Puffin watching tour, in 2016

These opportunities allowed me to see many beautiful locations and gave me the opportunity to expand my knowledge of the world. I hope to be able to continue travelling and hope to see as much of the world as I can after university, starting with Greece.

a father and daughter stand in a bay watching waves hit a rock wall
My dad and I watching waves hit a rock wall in Hawaii, 2012

Helping and supporting people has always been a passion of mine. Whether I was helping children learn how to skate, or helping kids learn to read, I was happy. This has heavily influenced my passion for coaching sports, as I have coached hockey, figure skating, slow pitch, and volleyball. It has also influence my choice of career.

It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to do as a career, but I know now I am doing exactly what I want to. Being able to expand children’s knowledge and encourage their passions excites me.

I am excited to continue my learning journey to become a teacher and can not wait to see what the future holds.

Background: Hockey rink from center ice. Girl on the left, wearing a dark blue Oilers jersey. Man on the right in a white oilers jersey
My dad and I after a kids vs parents game at the end of the hockey season.